“Never trust an unknown future to a known God” – Anon.

 

 

 

I remember those times when my mom will come to me and say: “Remember that you have to study hard so that you can have a good future!” Now I’m one of those guys who took this advice to heart – went and did year 12, did really well at it, as well as doing a further 3 years of study in uni after that. All in all, I’m pretty sure that I followed that advice to the letter.

Now before I continue with my usual rants, I’m gonna put a disclaimer that I am in no way trying to turn you against your mom and dad, I just want you to know what I am, and perhaps eventually, you might go through.

Never in my life have I seen my future in a clear, concise plan.

Turns out that no matter how hard you study or how much you really really want something, sometimes, well…sometimes, you just might not get it at that point. I’m 22 years old now and the future is STILL a mystery to me. I thought that there would be a time in my life where I would have it all planned out – in nice little sequential steps that I’ll be going through one by one. Now I begin to wonder whether that’ll actually be the case.

Turns out that there are not just one path to the future – the more I see it, the more I realise that there are endless pathways and possibilities, some that I can walk on, and some that I do not even know where to start walking.

Turns out that I do not have any idea where the future starts, or where it ends. What if the end of the future is actually the present? ooooooooooooo….

Turns out that no matter how many plans I make, no matter how many contingencies, how many plan B’s and no matter how many or how much I account for, I usually get (pleasantly) surprised with what Dad has for the future.

I was watching Scrubs just then.

Season 8 actually – the moment when J.D. (main character) leaves the hospital for good.

There was a scene where he remembered everyone – those who were friends, those who lived, those who died, those who were there, those who weren’t there, those who helped, those who tormented, those who he taught, those who taught him, those who gave him advice and those whom he gave his advice to.

Then there was one quote he made: “The future could be whatever I wanted it to be.”

We all want that, don’t we?

There will be a time in your life where you feel that the future is limited. There will be a time when you feel like the path is closed and there is no way you can reopen it again. There will be a time in your life, like there is in mine, when you feel that your future is set in stone and there’s nothing you can do to change it.

There will definitely be a time when you feel that you have no future. That you have nothing to look forward to, that everything that is good and great you’ve already passed.

When those times come, I just want to let you know, you can trust Dad with your plans.

And, no matter what happens, no matter how scary it is.

Still dare to dream a little.

