“We’re not necessarily doubting that God will do the best for us; we are wondering how painful the best would turn out to be.”

– C.S. Lewis

My latest gaming buzz came from what could be the best experience I had so far. Let me give you a little hint – it has tons of square gold stuff, green balls (I know – that sounded kinda wrong), bazillions of Disney characters and you basically go around the world swinging a huge key around to hit some baddies. Yep, that’s right! – its Kingdom Hearts: Birth By Sleep.

Now I wanna say since the event of my acquiring of a PSP, I have yet to be bored in anything. Honest! I think so far I’ve clocked in about 10-15 hours in the Sydney train stations just travelling back and forth from my home in Summer Hill to Song’s house in Wollongong. Pretty impressive amount of train-travel time if you ask me. And in that time, Well suffice to say that I’ve been investing it in gami-…uhhh… Creative Development.

One thing I love so much about this game (aside from swinging around a massive key and seeing guys 4-5x your size fall over) is the concept of the story. How everything had a beginning and how that beginning unravelled itself to the brilliant story that we come to know as Kingdom Hearts.

We usually have a word for that in our language. Actually, I can recall more than a couple.

Life.

Luck.

Chance.

Fortune.

Fate.

Destiny.

Seems to me that when I look out to the world, they all know that there’s some sort of energy, power, force, or whatever else you want to call it that they believe is bigger than themselves. Others use phrases like “Just my Luck” or “its not my day”. Others seem to want to personalise this force – there’s several people I know that calls it “The Universe”.

Do we, modern-aged, iPod-listening, iPad-tapping, keyboard-typing, facebook-stalking, iTunes-hearing, movie-downloading, Dvd-watching 21st century people somehow have a primitive realisation that there are forces in our lives beyond that which we can control?

I sometimes feel that way.

I’m on a jobhunt at the moment. And whenever I feel that letter come my way saying that I didn’t get into such-and-such position for such-and-such reason, I feel as if I want to go to those people and tell them how amazing I am and how great I can be for their company, but its out of my control. I mean honestly, sometimes I feel that even the guy who’s got the authority to hire people aren’t the ones that I’m supposed to pitch myself to.

There must be some sort of higher power that they themselves listen to.

To be honest, in times like this, I’m glad that I’m a Christian.

I don’t have to worry (even though I still do) and I don’t have to wonder: “is this force, this energy that controls things that I can’t control have my best interest in heart?”

“Can I trust this force?”

“Am I sure that what this force thinks is the best for me is what I actually want?”

My force (You can call Him Bob if you like – though I don’t know how He feels about that) – I call Him Dad.

And I can say with the best certainty that Yes, He does have the best in mind for me. He’s got the best in mind for you. He’s pretty much the most trustworthy guy out there. And if you don’t believe it, well ask Him yourself.

The difference between my ‘force’ and other people’s ‘force’ is that my force, well He’s personal.

He actually wants to get involved in my life.

And that’s why – I’m in Sydney right now with no job, no friends, no church, no Kids, and I know I’m in good hands. I’ve cried a lot, stressed a lot, worried a lot, but now I realised that my Dad’s pretty trustworthy. After all He’s done in my life, I know that He is. I know that He provided about 8-9K for the South Africa mission trip, another 8-9K for the Mexico trip, and He provided me with food everyday, shelter every night, and a comforter to stay by my side, supporting me through all this – She’s Song.

So Yeah, He’s trustworthy. He even dared to put His word on it –

“‘ll show up and take care of you as I promised and bring you back home. I know what I’m doing. I have it all planned out—plans to take care of you, not abandon you, plans to give you the future you hope for”

Isn’t that awesome?

He knows what He’s doing.

I urge you to start trusting Him as well.

